SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGIES

 

Accelerating and securing the steps that lead from the validation of a new target to the selection of the best antibody candidate

Regularly, new potential therapeutic targets are identified by researchers but only a few of corresponding antibodies will successfully survive the long and costly steps that allow them to be converted into medicine.

By generating antibodies against these new targets and then determining, in vitro and in vivo in relevant models, the existence of a therapeutic window for  a given target/antibody couple, MI-mAbs “de-risk” the process, allowing biopharmaceutical industries to focus their efforts on the safest and most effective antibody candidates.


Devoted to both academic and industrial requirements, Mi-mAbs validates the therapeutic potential of each new target, generates antibodies against the both human and homologous mice target, characterizes their mechanism of action and provides the preclinical data that pave the way for the clinical development of these antibodies. Thus, for each target, Mi-mAbs :

  • Determines its expression profile using immunohistochemistry and bioinformatics

  • Generates antibody candidates (chimeric or humanized, coupled or not with toxins) with isotype adapted to the desired pharmacological profile (cytotoxic antibody, agonists or antagonists)

  • Constructs relevant in vivo models expressing human target (knock-in) upon request

  • Assesses the effectiveness and toxicity of the approach in testing surrogate antibodies (against the homologous murine target) on murine models of grafts of syngeneic tumor cells or testing anti human mAb in knock-in mice (where the murine gene is replaced by a human homologue)

  • Tests the antibody candidates on human cells in vitro and in murine xenograft with cell lines or with patient derived xenografts 

  • Researches biomarkers to facilitate their future clinical development

To do this, the platform is based on 3 key technologies (monoclonal antibodies, immunopharmacology and immunohistochemistry/bioinformatics) and a R&D integrated process that accelerate and secure the steps which lead from the validation of a new target to the selection of the best antibody candidate.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGIES

 

Accélérer et sécuriser les étapes qui conduisent de la validation d’une nouvelle cible à la sélection du meilleur candidat anticorps

Régulièrement, de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques potentielles sont mises à jour par les chercheurs mais seuls quelques-uns des anticorps dérivés de ces molécules franchiront avec succès les longues et coûteuses étapes qui permettent de les convertir en médicament.

En générant des anticorps contre ces nouvelles cibles puis en déterminant, in vitro et in vivo, la fenêtre thérapeutique potentielle du couple cible-anticorps, MI-mAbs permet aux industriels de concentrer leurs efforts sur les anticorps les plus sûrs et efficaces.


Dédiée aux académiques et des industriels, MI-mAbs valide le potentiel thérapeutique de chaque nouvelle cible, génère des anticorps contre cette dernière et ses homologues éventuels chez la souris, caractérise leur mécanisme d’action et fournit les données précliniques qui ouvrent la voie au développement clinique de ces anticorps. Ainsi pour chaque cible, MI-mAbs :

  • Détermine son profil d’expression en combinant immunohistochimie et bioinformatique

  • Génère des anticorps candidats (chimériques ou humanisés, couplés ou non à des toxines) dont les isotypes sont  adaptés au profil pharmacologique souhaité (anticorps cytotoxiques, agonistes ou antagonistes)

  • Construit, si nécessaire, les modèles souris exprimant la cible humaine (knock in)

  • Évalue l’efficacité et la toxicité de l’approche en testant des anticorps surrogate (anticorps de substitution contre l’homologue murin) dans des modèles murins de greffes syngéniques de cellules tumorales ou des souris knock-in (où la molécule murine est remplacée par la molécule humaine)

  • Teste les anticorps candidats sur des cellules humaines, in vitro ou dans des modèles murins de greffes xenogéniques de cellules tumorales

  • Recherche des biomarqueurs à même de faciliter leur futur développement clinique

Pour ce faire, la plateforme s’appuie sur 3 technologies clefs (anticorps  monoclonaux, immunopharmacologie et immunohistochimie/bioinformatique) et sur un processus de R&D intégré qui lui permet d’accélérer et de sécuriser les étapes qui conduisent de la validation d’une nouvelle cible à la sélection du meilleur anticorps candidat.